"I'm a level 5 vegan. I don't eat anything that casts a shadow" - Lisa Simpson's boyfriend, The Simpsons
Many people ask, "So you're vegan?"
And then I'm compelled to give the "yes and no" answer.
This is because all whole food plant based (WFPB) folks are vegan, but not all vegans are WFPB.
If your mind just melted a little after reading that, don't despair. Most people get a little confused by the two labels and assume they are interchangeable, but they can actually be pretty far from the same thing.
Ya see, vegan's don't eat animals (cows/chickens/pigs/etc) or animal products (dairy/eggs/honey/etc) but that doesn't really tell you what they do eat. Fritos and Oreos happen to be vegan, meaning they are made with no animal products or animals, just lots of substances that come from plants and man-made chemicals. Not exactly health food.
That's where WFPB comes in. It's more specific. If you follow a whole food plant based diet you also do not eat animals or animal products, same a vegan, but what you do eat is whole foods in their natural form. No Fritos or Oreos.
See the difference?
Now you know why this site strives to support a whole food plant based diet. Occasionally I will post the naughtier 'vegan junk food' recipe such as cakes with white sugar and added oil, but I will always announce it's status as a celebratory food (i.e. only meant for very special occasions/occasionally)